Telefilm Canada

Coproduce with Canada

Every year, canada participates in more than 60 coproductions governed by an official treaty, totalling A production volume of approximately 500 million dollars. a third of these productions are feature films and the rest are television productions.

What is an audiovisual coproduction governed by a treaty?

This is a film or television production produced jointly by a Canadian producer and a producer from a foreign country made in accordance with an audiovisual coproduction treaty signed between partner countries.

What requirements must be fulfilled?

As a rule, and subject to the provisions of each treaty the following elements are required:

  • Being an eligible producer in a country that has signed an audiovisual coproduction treaty with Canada.
  • A minimum contribution per country (of 15% to 30%).
  • Financial, creative, and technical contribution and the level of expenditure must all be in proportion (i.e. if the project is 40% Canadian, it is expected that 40% of the budget be spent in Canada).
  • All personnel hired to work on an official coproduction must come from the coproducing countries, and shooting and postproduction of the project must be carried out in coproducing countries.
  • Subject to the approval of administrative authorities, most of the treaties allow for non coproducing country actor(s) and foreign location shooting when the script so requires.

What does Canada have to offer?

  • Aside from the treaties or agreements currently in force with 54 partners from all over the world, Canada offers a large pool of creators and technicians whose reputation is recognized worldwide

  • An infinite number of places and landscapes covering a vast area of almost 10 million square kilometres and the opportunity to work in country’s the two official languages, French & English. Check with the provincial agencies to find out which province best suits your project (

  • Public funding: audiovisual coproductions enjoy national status in each treaty country. This allows your Canadian partner to apply for federal and provincial tax credits (automatic funding) as well as to the Canada Feature Film Fund, the France-Canada mini treaty, and the Canada Media Fund (selective funding).

How can I coproduce outside of the audiovisual treaty coproduction framework?

Two other possibilities are available if you wish to establish a partnership with Canada :

  • Co-ventures (audiovisual coproductions without treaty) This type of audiovisual coproduction must be certified by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). For more information, go to
  • Film or Video Production Services Tax Credit (PSTC) (location, service delivery). PSTC is co-administered by the Canadian Audio Visual Certification Office (CAVCO) and the Canada Revenue Agency. For more information:

Our partners

  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium (film only)
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • China (film only)
  • Colombia
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Latvia
  • Luxembourg
  • Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Philippines
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Senegal
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea (TV only)
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Yugoslavia
  • (Serbia & Montenegro)

How can I find a Canadian partner?

Consult our web site,, where you will find:

  • the list of associations of Canadian producers (CMPA and AQPM) and provincial organizations offering tax credits.
  • a list of Canadian companies that have already coproduced.
  • information about companies present at major international events.